On being a technical book reviewer

Recently  I worked as a technical reviewer for a new book on Windows Azure Mobile Services –  “Learning Windows Azure Mobile Services for Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8” by Geoff Webber.

Azure mobile services in technology that I’m pretty familiar with. I delivered a number of talks and demos to user groups in Australia and Ireland on mobile services last year. I’ve never contributed to book before so when packt publishing approached me I decided to give it a try. Overall it was really enjoyable experience and its always nice to give something back to the community.

Here’s the low down on what is expected of you as a tech reviewer.

The publishing deadlines were tight – I had to commit to reviewing a chapter every 2-3 days. I was then emailed each chapter one at a time and asked to read through them and comment on the following area’s

  • Has the author left out any important topics?
  • Is the order of the content logical?
  • Are the code examples correct?
  • What could the author do to make the book more interesting?
  • How would you rate the chapter out of 10?
  • What would you change in order to make it an 8/10 or higher?
  • Has the author explained the concepts clearly enough?

The process gave me a real appreciation for the amount of time and effort that is involved in creating a book. Its a massive commitment – I take my hat off to everyone that has written a book.

For those of you interested in learning more about mobile services the book is now available for purchase online . If you do read the book I’d love to hear what you think of it!

Leave a Reply

